FireTV and PlayStation mDNS across VLANs not working

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-08-16 21:27:32 - last edited 2023-08-17 06:46:58
Tags: #mDNS

ER605 v2.0 (2.1.2 Build 20230210 Rel.62992)

TL-SG2210P v5.0 (5.0.6 Build 20230602 Rel.73473)

OC200 v5.9.32 (1.24.0 Build 20230328 Rel.52384)

EAP610(EU) v3.0 (1.3.2 Build 20230414 Rel. 54437)

Hi everyone. I bough myself a TP-Link system and never had anything like this before. So i am a newbie.

Currently i have 4 VLANs:

IoT: Fire TV Sticks and stuff

Entertainment: PS4, XBOX, Switch

Home: PC, mobile phone

Guest: guest-devices

My problem with this is:

I want to cast YouTube from my phone (Home VLAN) to my Fire TV (IoT VLAN). And i want guests (Guest VLAN) to find my PS4 (Entertainment VLAN) to play PlayLink-Games with me.
Even with mDNS configured it is not working. I added "_amzn-wplay._tcp.local" to my Bonjour Services and it is still not working.

I read a lot about this on this forum. Looks like i am not the only one with this problem. Most people talk about chromecast devices rather than Fire TV devices, but i dont have any chromecast devices here to test. After a long search i installed avahi (as mDNS repeater) on a raspberry pi and added it to the system. It doesnt work either. What am i doing wrong? Most of the devices are connected via WiFi via EAP610.

Everything is on the newest version and there are no updates available.

My mDNS configuration:

my Bonjour Services:

Options
6 Reply
Re:FireTV and PlayStation mDNS across VLANs not working
2023-08-17 00:19:48 - last edited 2023-08-17 03:37:49

I upgraded my devices. Still not working. Even checked the Multicast Filtering for all my Wireless Networks.

Options
2023-08-17 07:04:55

Hi @DivineJimmi 

Thanks for posting in our business forum.