VLAN for work computer

VLAN for work computer

VLAN for work computer
VLAN for work computer
2 weeks ago - last edited 2 weeks ago
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version:

I have an ER605, and a SG2008P v3.20 connected with a OC200.

I have a home office and would like to isolate my work computer on its own VLAN so it only has access to the internet on LAN. I use a docking station and alternate between my own computer and my work computer. 

My setup is this ->

ER605 -> SG2008P Switch -> Unmanaged Netgear Switch ->docking station

Where I am struggling is how do I isolate my work computer on its own LAN. It appears that both computer are also getting the same ip when connected to the docking station.

I can see how to isolate everything on the port on the SG20058P. Do I need to get a managed switch and swap my unmanaged switch? How can I configure this? I am new to VLANs.

Options
7 Reply
Re:VLAN for work computer
2 weeks ago

Hi @jlkweb12 

Thanks for posting in our business forum.

Use the filter and you should find out some guides on this.

Knowledge Base label on the switch page contains the 802.1Q VLAN explanation and basis.

Best Regards! If you are new to the forum, please read: Howto - A Guide to Use Forum Effectively. Read Before You Post. Look for a model? Search your model NOW Official and Beta firmware. NEW features! Subscribe for the latest update!Download Beta Here☚ ☛ ★ Configuration Guide ★ ☚ ☛ ★ Knowledge Base ★ ☚ ☛ ★ Troubleshooting Manual ★ ☚ ● Be kind and nice. ● Stay on the topic. ● Post details. ● Search first. Don't be a lazy asker. ● Please don't take it for granted. ● No email confidentiality should be violated. ● S/N, MAC, and your true public IP should be mosaiced.
Options
2 weeks ago