How useful is OFDMA for older tech

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-01-26 17:59:44

Hi, total noob, so apologies in advance for the stupid questions.

I'm thinking of upgrading our router to a Wifi 6 model with OFDMA.
The principal reason is we have about 18 simultaniously connected devices. About 5 blink cameras, 5 smart plugs (tp-link tapo 100) as well as various tv boxes, smart phones and laptops. 
Recently we've been noticing some connection issues and I'm assuming its because our router is getting congested. So with that in mind I thought a OFDMA capable router would be a good solution. However, looking at the specs for any of the OFDMA routers I can find it says...

"Use of Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), and features including OFDMA, MU-MIMO, WPA3 and 1024-QAM require clients to also support the corresponding features."

Which makes sense, but as far as I can tell, nothing I own currently supports OFDMA and in fact there isn't really that much on the market which seems to support it either (unless I'm missing something)

So I'm coming to the conclusion that OFDMA is a feature for the future and that in order to take advantage of it I'll have to replace most/all of my other client hardware, (when OFDMA smart plugs/firesticks come to market). Until them I'm out of luck for my current problem.

Is that right or am I misunderstanding something? Are there other technologies in Wifi 6 routers (or any other) that could help without OFDMA? 

Thanks in advance

Options
3 Reply
Re:How useful is OFDMA for older tech
2021-01-26 23:14:41 - last edited 2021-01-26 23:17:11

@tmcthree 

Hey