Google Play Store / YouTube service stopped working with Deco X20

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-06-18 11:11:01 - last edited 2022-10-13 06:14:05
Model: Deco X20  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.5.1 Build 20210204 Rel. 50738

Hi,

(actually the hardware version is 1.2, the dropdown didn't have that choice)

I've been using Deco x20 for about 3 months, primarily for its mesh WiFi capability as well as its parental control features. Cannot exactly pinpoint when but started probably a week or two back, YouTube and Google Play Store services no longer function.

YouTube:

On our laptops, since we used web browsers for YouTube, seems after initial slow connection (with spinning circle) for a few (up to 10) seconds, video clips eventually played. But on Android cell phones, YouTube app simply didn't work, and the spinning circle stayed on forever. I suspect it's because laptop web browser uses http/https and has some fallback mechanism, while YouTube app on phones doesn't. Even on laptop, youtube playing is very close and interrupted (bufferring) frequently.

Google Play Store:

This is simply not functioning anymore on all our of Android cell phones. While we could still browse apps, but we couldn't install new ones nor could we update existing ones - all downloading is stuck at pending state.

We tested segment by segment eventually narrowed the problem down to the X20, most likely around Parental Control / AntiVirus area.

- We tested our phones on mobile 4G network: both YouTube and Play Store worked perfectly fine with practically 0-lag/delay.

- We tested our phones directly with our ISP modem (which has WiFi, but we simply disabled it in the past), and it worked flawlessly as well.