How to reboot the router on schedule
This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
How to reboot the router on schedule
This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
How to reboot the router on schedule
Posts: 3
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2013-05-06
2013-05-06 18:11:33
Posts: 3
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2013-05-06
How to reboot the router on schedule
2013-05-06 18:11:33
Tags:
Region : Netherlands
Model : TL-WR1043ND
Hardware Version : V1
Firmware Version : 3.13.4 Build 110429 Rel.36959n
ISP :
I have a flaky internet connection, and it drops every few days. I've thus far powercycled my router by unplugging and plugging it back in, which fixes the issue.
I'm traveling soon, and would like to be able to have access to my stuff remotely, even after the connection drops.
I have two ideas:
[*]Run a script in Windows 7 which would soft reboot the modem - free, not sure if soft reboot is enough though. If that doesn't work,
[*]Get a hardware which would powercycle the router - haven't researched if these are readily available and cheap
Is there a way to schedule a soft reboot of my router using Windows system tools? I'd schedule it to reboot every night.
Any other ideas are of course welcome!
Model : TL-WR1043ND
Hardware Version : V1
Firmware Version : 3.13.4 Build 110429 Rel.36959n
ISP :
I have a flaky internet connection, and it drops every few days. I've thus far powercycled my router by unplugging and plugging it back in, which fixes the issue.
I'm traveling soon, and would like to be able to have access to my stuff remotely, even after the connection drops.
I have two ideas:
[*]Run a script in Windows 7 which would soft reboot the modem - free, not sure if soft reboot is enough though. If that doesn't work,
[*]Get a hardware which would powercycle the router - haven't researched if these are readily available and cheap
Is there a way to schedule a soft reboot of my router using Windows system tools? I'd schedule it to reboot every night.
Any other ideas are of course welcome!
#1
Options
- Copy Link
- Subscribe
- Bookmark
- Report Inappropriate Content
Thread Manage
Announcement Manage
16 Reply
Posts: 4
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2013-08-27
Re:How to reboot the router on schedule
2016-12-25 09:20:12
I want to add my 2 cents if i may.
I am struggling with 3 X ER-604W freezing routers for over a year now, and I want to suggest some solutions for the problem that are simple and might work for you. I haven't tested it on 1043ND, But I'm sure the wsf script can be easily modified with the proper reboot command.
Simplest method :
1. Get a digital timer and set it to be on all day long EXCEPT for 1 minute - This will restart the router (You can get those on aliexpress or ebay for like 12$). If you can't afford a digital timer, You can get a simple one and set it to be turned off once a day too (It usually can be set to be turned of for 15 minutes increments minimum).
Another method :
1. install telnet feature in windows (google it according to your OS)
2. Open notepad and paste this below text (That start with the word ) into a new text file and save it as a wsf (For example rr.wsf)
(Just make sure that:
a. The path to your telnet.exe file is correct
b. the telnet routers address is correct
c. the first 2 "admin" matches your router's user/password logins)
3. run the wsf file and see if your router is completely restarted.
4. You can also create a batch file with notepad (For example rr.bat) that will run the wsf script and close the command prompt for example :
@echo off
cscript C:\rr.wsf
taskkill /im cmd.exe /f /t
5. If you want to add it to task scheduler, You need to create a new task and :
a. Set it to run only when user is logged on
b. Let it have highest privileges
c. Under Actions-Edit Start is (optional) provide it's working directory (For example c:\)
Good luck and I hope it help you guys
I am struggling with 3 X ER-604W freezing routers for over a year now, and I want to suggest some solutions for the problem that are simple and might work for you. I haven't tested it on 1043ND, But I'm sure the wsf script can be easily modified with the proper reboot command.
Simplest method :
1. Get a digital timer and set it to be on all day long EXCEPT for 1 minute - This will restart the router (You can get those on aliexpress or ebay for like 12$). If you can't afford a digital timer, You can get a simple one and set it to be turned off once a day too (It usually can be set to be turned of for 15 minutes increments minimum).
Another method :
1. install telnet feature in windows (google it according to your OS)
2. Open notepad and paste this below text (That start with the word ) into a new text file and save it as a wsf (For example rr.wsf)
(Just make sure that:
a. The path to your telnet.exe file is correct
b. the telnet routers address is correct
c. the first 2 "admin" matches your router's user/password logins)
3. run the wsf file and see if your router is completely restarted.
4. You can also create a batch file with notepad (For example rr.bat) that will run the wsf script and close the command prompt for example :
@echo off
cscript C:\rr.wsf
taskkill /im cmd.exe /f /t
5. If you want to add it to task scheduler, You need to create a new task and :
a. Set it to run only when user is logged on
b. Let it have highest privileges
c. Under Actions-Edit Start is (optional) provide it's working directory (For example c:\)
Good luck and I hope it help you guys
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
#12
Options
- Copy Link
- Report Inappropriate Content
Thread Manage
Announcement Manage
Posts: 5
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2017-03-16
Re:How to reboot the router on schedule
2017-12-13 03:19:15
I need a similar solution for my TL-WA801ND. It doesn't allow telnet or ssh access. And the reboot URL needs to contain a random string of letters that changes with each login (e.g.
http://192.168.1.17/RDBFIPPCPCEXRGEB/userRpm/SysRebootRpm.htm?Reboot=Reboot). Any ideas?
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
#13
Options
- Copy Link
- Report Inappropriate Content
Thread Manage
Announcement Manage
Posts: 2
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2018-03-19
Re:How to reboot the router on schedule
2018-03-19 12:59:21
I needed to do this as well and I ended up writing a python script that will send a reboot command via authenticating the web UI and fetching the proper URLs. A server on my network runs it as a scheduled cron job:
https://gist.github.com/vicwomg/9b0bc6f1ea22e08379651a36877e0420
https://gist.github.com/vicwomg/9b0bc6f1ea22e08379651a36877e0420
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
#14
Options
- Copy Link
- Report Inappropriate Content
Thread Manage
Announcement Manage
Posts: 5
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2017-03-16
Re:How to reboot the router on schedule
2018-03-20 00:31:49
vicwomg wrote
I needed to do this as well and I ended up writing a python script that will send a reboot command via authenticating the web UI and fetching the proper URLs. A server on my network runs it as a scheduled cron job:
https://gist.github.com/vicwomg/9b0bc6f1ea22e08379651a36877e0420
Great work!
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
#15
Options
- Copy Link
- Report Inappropriate Content
Thread Manage
Announcement Manage
Posts: 2
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2018-03-27
Re:How to reboot the router on schedule
2018-03-27 02:41:31
I had the same problem
Major wrote
So my router stopped working. I tried restarting the router via my browser to test it, but I couldn't access http://192.168.1.1/ I had to unplug to get the router to start working again.
Would Gargoyle firmware allow a scheduled reboot even if there's no communication between my router and my PC? Is there a way to test if the firmware-started reset recovers my internet connection before committing to flashing the firmware?
I'm quite concerned about bricking my router if Gargoyle doesn't work - they recommend installing the latest, non-stable build, on their website since the stable builds are lacking some important features. That's not very encouraging...
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
#16
Options
- Copy Link
- Report Inappropriate Content
Thread Manage
Announcement Manage
Posts: 1
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2018-05-11
This worked..
2018-05-11 13:13:08
This worked. Thanks for posting this.
acc4ever wrote
[FONT=arial]Digging and digging, finally you have the hole![/FONT]
[FONT=arial]Here is how it works, forgot my lasts comments. Just need to use same url as referer then will work again [/FONT]
[FONT=arial]Using cURL:
curl -L --user admin:admin http://192.168.1.1/userRpm/SysRebootRpm.htm?Reboot=Reboot --referer "http://192.168.1.1/userRpm/SysRebootRpm.htm/"[/FONT]
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
0
We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to let us know more. Log in to submit feedback.
#17
Options
- Copy Link
- Report Inappropriate Content
Thread Manage
Announcement Manage
Posts: 3
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2013-05-06
2013-05-06 18:11:33
Posts: 3
Helpful: 0
Solutions: 0
Stories: 0
Registered: 2013-05-06
Information
Helpful: 0
Views: 10195
Replies: 16
Voters 0
No one has voted for it yet.
Tags
Report Inappropriate Content
Transfer Module
New message