Poor wifi signal in new house

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-09-23 07:51:30
Model: Deco  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi,

Just moved into a new house, and suddenly my three deco devices only covers a very small part of the area... I'm a rookie in this, so what can I do to fix it.

prev I had one deco in each floor (3floor house) and it worked perfectly. Now get weak signals when placing all three on the same floor! It doesnt work at all if I move one up to the 2nd floor.

it's an old wooden house, so no massive walls or concrete...

Happy for any help, since I currently only have wifi in half of the house...

Options
4 Reply
Re:Poor wifi signal in new house
2022-09-23 22:39:14

@MPG 

You can never rule out walls as a reason to kill WiFi, that said its quite unlikely to be too bad if its wooden walls / studs.  

My first advice for you would be to run the Network Optimiser, its in the Deco app..  it could well be that your new house has more WiFi in the area (neighbours) than your last place so a channel change may help, the optimiser will do taht for you.

Options
2022-09-25 07:29:00

@Philbert thanks for the tip! Have tried it now, and it just says that it works perfect after it ran.

however, when I check the signal strength it's still on the lowest level and keeps loosing it.

is there something else I can do with the settings if the issue is other wifi signals in the neighborhood? Allthough I only get like 2-3 visable wifi as an opt on the phone, and looks like quite far away.

thanks for your help!

Options
2022-09-26 14:13:50 - last edited 2022-09-26 14:14:03

@MPG 

It may not be possible to figure the difference between two houses without visiting them in person, which is obviously not an option.