Data Only or Phone SIMs

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Data Only or Phone SIMs

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
Data Only or Phone SIMs
Data Only or Phone SIMs
2022-10-17 07:58:28
Model: TL-MR6400  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

I've given up on ever getting fibre broadband to our rural UK location, and I've purchased a TL-MR6400 modem, and Poynting XPOL1 omni antenna, but I'm having trouble identifying a data-only 4G SIM. Can I use a conventional mobile phone SIM in the MR6400 ? And if so, do I have to make any changes to the factory setup to get it to connect to, say, Three ? And if so, what changes are needed ?

Many thanks in advance for answers, and I apologise if my questions have obvious answers somewhere, but I've looked at lots of other websites and not found any. Obviously, I'm new to 4G !!

Options
6 Reply
Re:Data Only or Phone SIMs
2022-10-19 03:40:21

@Virgin4gmodem 

Hi, as long as your phone SIM card allows to share internet and no limit for specific device only, it should be able to work on 4G router as well.

And may I know who the SIM card carrier is? and if it is compatible with the MR6400, it will be plug and play after you insert the SIM card into the MR6400, no additional settings required. However, if there is any issue, please share with us screenshots of Advanced->Status page and Advanced->Network->Internet page.