Added single M5 to S4 system, WiFi not working

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-11-09 13:54:24
Model: Deco M5  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: 3.28

I have been using a 3-pavk Deco S4 system for a couple of years very effectively. We've moved and the I need to add another unit – I couldn't easily get a single S4 (only and E4 that doesn't have gigabit ports) so bought an M5 as they are supposed to work together. I currently use and S4 as the main deco then the other 2 as satellites (using Ethernet backhaul).

I added the M5 easily and the app asked me to make it the main deco which I did – it worked until it asked me for a firmware update. Then I noticed on the network map the S4 that isn't on Ethernet backhaul was connecting to a much further away S4 and not the M5 (which is the closest). I then noticed the M5 was not transmitting a WiFi signal (despite still supply data to the other two S4s via Ethernet backhaul). I switched the other S4s off to make sure I was right and there is no WiFi signal from the M5 (light still green though). So I decided to go back to the old set-up and remove the M5 but in the app 'Set as main deco' was no longer an option so I had to reset all the decos and recreate the network from scratch. Once I got that up and running I then readded the M5 as a satellite but despite picking up a signal when right next to the main deco when moved to 3 metres away it will no longer connect. 

Any advice appreciated?

Options
1 Reply
Re:Added single M5 to S4 system, WiFi not working
2022-11-09 16:40:36 - last edited 2022-11-09 16:40:51

@Piers 

As an owner of multiple Deco M5s I can tell you that you have defective unit. Return it to seller. Buy M5 from different seller, if you can get working unit you won't be disappointed.