VLANs / Multi SSID with WA1201 - Wifi not connecting for VLAN ID other than 1

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-12-11 20:47:59 - last edited 2022-12-29 09:53:36
Model: TL-WA1201  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: 1.10.0 Build 220118 Rel.36469n(4555)

Hi all,

I'm quite new to this kind of setup, but for the life of me, I spent hours on this already and can't seem to figure it out, so I'm hoping a kind soul here can help me out. 

I'm trying to setup a network at home with 4 different VLANs: a private one, one for my company which is in the same building, a guest network and a separate VLAN for IoT. Each VLAN shall get its own WiFi network (and corresponding SSID). 

In order to do that, I'm using 3 TL-SG108E switches and 2 TL-WA1201 access points for wifi. I believe the setup of the switches went ok (I followed explanations on this site and in the manual, mostly, and it appears to work, at least for the parts I already tested), but when I try to setup the APs, things get messy. I did manage to get 4 different SSIDs (actually 8, considering 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz bandwidths), but if I change the VLAN ID corresponding to the SSID, none of my device seem to manage to connect. They do connect however if I keep them configured on VLAN 1, which is the default VLAN... but doing so would, in my understanding, defeat the very purpose of having VLANs in the first place. 

There must be something I'm doing wrong, but I really can't figure it out. Any idea ? The setup is as follow (and switch config screens attached below): 

• Switch 1: 
    • Port 1 - Router (VLAN 1, Untagged)
    • Port 2 - Switch 2 (VLAN 1, Tagged)
    • Port 3 - Access Point 1 (VLAN 1, Tagged)
    • Next ports in different VLANs for private and IoT (untagged)
  • Switch 2: