Deco X50 5G - Red light issue

Deco X50 5G - Red light issue

68 Reply
Re:Deco X50 5G - Red light issue
2024-02-29 15:26:50

@HenrikEkman 

My unit continuously switches between bands "B1,B3,N28" and "B1,N28", changing about every 1 minute or so.

Signal strength is current showing as poor, yellow, although I am still getting over 100 MBits down all the time. A couple of weeks ago it was mainly green. I did allow the unit to perform the latest software update, either this made things appear worse or O2 reduced their signal levels. When I get a chance I will move the unit around the home, and possibly consude4 external antennas.

Options
2024-03-01 09:01:21 - last edited 2024-03-01 09:35:39

@Bee_24 

Now after few tests - few observations:

At least with my case, one potential element is that I likely am in a low signal strength location (5G, N28), but relatively good 4G (B3) and Deco may face more Deco toggling between two frequencies that are in my case (I'm not an expert) in such different frequencies and their network/cell design that it is difficult to know on the Deco's "human readable UI" what a generic signal strength means for each of the frequencies/technologies.

For example:

I do know that I might be on the edge of good/weak 5G - but 4G is OK.

If I now go to the position in A in my house - I get stronger signal (UI below) - more green in the indicator. But if I check in there the with the app that Deco is "agressively" dropping out and taking in the channel N28.

But if I go to a location B - there is less green in the indicator - and they are yellow - I can get more stable connection both on B3 and N28 almost all the time.

THIS leads to me thinking: