Potential subnetting issue with VLAN's and stuck, could use some help/education.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Potential subnetting issue with VLAN's and stuck, could use some help/education.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-06-28 04:54:44 - last edited 2023-06-29 02:59:25
Model: ER8411  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.4

Hey all,

I'm new here but I'll try to keep this as short as possible with relevant info. I'm hoping this is simply a "You're dumb, here's why this isn't working" thing.

I came from a Fortinet environment which had a very different mentality and functionality; it was a pretty neat firewall but I'm new to Omada and trying to figure things out myself and running into bizarre issues.

My network is pretty simple:
Internet > ER8411 > SG3210-XHP-M2 > EAP670

I do have a software Omada Controller with everything adopted, but other than the VLAN's outlined below, and the AP SSID's, it's stright default. (No ACL's, etc.)

Attached to the switch, I have a bunch of Proxmox servers with VLAN-aware VM's/CT's.

I have 5 VLAN's:

VLAN 1 - LAN (192.168.0.1/24)

VLAN 20 - Servers LAN (192.168.3.1/24)

VLAN 30 - Home LAN (10.1.30.1/24)

VLAN 40 - IoT LAN (10.1.40.1/24)
VLAN 50 - Guest LAN (10.1.50.1/24, with guest isolation)

Here's where the weirdness happens.

My admin PC is attached to the switch, gets a 192.168.0.x IP just fine. I can ping devices in the IoT VLAN, the Home VLAN, and the LAN VLAN. What I CANNOT do is ping anything in VLAN 20 which is the Servers VLAN.

Without changing my switch port, I manually change my PC's IP to something in the 192.168.3.x range, and suddenly I can ping and access the Server hosts just fine (Which are 192.168.3.200-205) but I lose internet, and can no longer ping anything in the other VLANs.