Boosting signal and separating accounts.

2024-06-13 09:06:09 - last edited 2024-06-19 10:48:14
Model: Deco E4  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi, to start with, being in my 60's I am not technically minded and do not have a clue about what some of the technical terms around tech actually mean, so, if anyone can help, please use plain terms so that I might be able to understand what is meant.

We have two seperate detached properties, one a three bed guest accomodation and the other is our home. 

We had orange fiber installed last year. We receive speeds of up to 580mb to the router. 

Due to access, the router had to be located in the guest accommodation, to spread wi-fi thoughout that building and our house we bought the E4 AC1200 Deco's and created a mesh. The system works brilliantly. We have one deco in the cottage and two in our house.

There are at times when we have guests the wifi lags, depending on the number of persons when tablets, phones, laptops, TV are being used. 

We, at the time of renovating our house had it hardwired with ports in all of the bedrooms, kitchen and livingroom. 

On our main PC plugged into a port in the house we get 330+ Mbps download and 243Mbps upload speeds. 

I am wondering if I bought a tp-link router would I be able to plug it into a port in our house to create a better, more stable coverage during heavy loading, or would it have to be plugged into the existing router?

Also, would I be able to split the network for better security by doing this. 

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Boosting signal and separating accounts.-Solution
2024-06-15 13:52:17 - last edited 2024-06-19 10:48:14

@Renard 

Here is the summary of changes to your home network I am going to recommend:

The plan is to take Main Deco from cottage, bring it to house and connect to Ethernet cable that comes from the cottage. Connect switch to second Ethernet port of Main Deco.

Detailed steps: