Understanding VLAN trunking and its usage in wireless networks

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-04-05 21:16:06

Hi everybody,

I'm still fairly new to using VLANs. Up until now I'm only used it to "cut a switch into slices" of independent VLANs with no interconnection and even with separate uplink cables.

Let me split my posts into 2 parts.

What I would like to do first is trunking, so transport multiple VLANs over 1 cable and take the VLANs apart on another switch again.

I understand these steps are required for this:

• I go to 802.1Q VLAN and create the VLANs I need
  • additionally I go to port config and set the default VLAN for each port.
  • Furthermore I set the uplink ports to trunk (on both switches connected by a shared cable)

So when connecting to a port dedicated to a certain VLAN I should also be able to reach out to ports of that VLAN on ANOTHER switch (but only to those and not the other VLAN-ports).

Did I get that right?

I'd like to use this to be able to utilize this with a WIFI access point to broadcast 2 seperate WIFIs with 1 VLAN each. But the WIFI AP is connected via 1 cable only.

I would assume I need to configure the port the access point is connected as "trunk" and configure it to belong to the 2 desired VLANs, wouldn't I?

Unfortunately when doing this last step the WIFI AP becomes unavailable.

Options
3 Reply
Re:Understanding VLAN trunking and its usage in wireless networks
2021-04-05 21:56:40

@ESCaNDIO 

Hey

Hopefully this helps a bit :)

What I would like to do first is trunking, so transport multiple VLANs over 1 cable and take the VLANs apart on another switch again.

I understand these steps are required for this:

• I go to 802.1Q VLAN and create the VLANs I need