Local hostnames are not accessible on a client when connected externally to my network via OpenVPN

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Local hostnames are not accessible on a client when connected externally to my network via OpenVPN

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-05-31 11:13:28
Model: ER7206 (TL-ER7206)   EAP245   OC200  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.3.0 Build 20230322 Rel.70951

At my home network i have the following setup:

OC200 Controller

ER7206 (router)

4x EAP245 accespoint

PiHole on a raspberry

Issue description

I have an OpenVPN server configured. Using an external client (iOS) i can make a connection and access local ip's. But i am not able to access local hostname such as nas1.local. While this hostname is accessible when locally connected to my network. I'm not a network expert. I was also not able to find any solutions searching online and within the community. Maybe someone can help me solve this. Thank you.

Configuration

I have 1 LAN configured and the DNS is fixed set to my pihole 192.168.1.90. All other settings are default.

PiHole on my Raspberry as DNS server: 192.168.1.90

My OpenVPN server config:

My LAN config

Options
9 Reply
Re:Local hostnames are not accessible on a client when connected externally to my network via OpenVPN
2023-05-31 13:29:03

@m85 I'm not entirely sure if my suggestion will help but you can try setting up mDNS in Omada, here's a page from the knowledge base:

https://community.tp-link.com/en/business/kb/detail/412610

The reason I suggest this is because:

1. Your OpenVPN IP Pool and LAN pool are two different subnets, mDNS will forward broadcast packets across different subnets for you.

2. You are using an iOS device, they typically rely on the Bonjour service (mDNS) for discovery.

Options