ER7212PC Firmware news and hostnames + ACL

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-07-10 06:16:55 - last edited 2023-07-17 01:04:03
Model: ER7212PC  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.3

Hi @ all,

Im completely new to Omada, it's up and running but some things stagger me:

1) Why is the Controller Software on the ER7212PC is so far behind the other releases? Will that change, or would it be better to get an OC200 and ER7206 to be more up do date?

2) Are there any news to the hostnames-issue? my old fritz.box was able to do something simple... Or is there no hope that this basic feature will be added?

3) Is there anywhere a goog guide to ACLs? I try to set them correctly, but somehow very strange things happen (I block VLAN 1 to VLAN2, suddenly VLAN3 cant connect to VLAN2 as well)

On the ER7212PC, do you know, what the PVID is used for?

Thank you, this whole topic is a bit overwhelming ;)

Options
2 Accepted Solutions
Re:ER7212PC Firmware news and hostnames + ACL-Solution
2023-07-13 01:05:45 - last edited 2023-07-17 01:04:03

@RiverRaid 

RiverRaid wrote

@Tedd404 

Thank you for the answer!

1) No, I would'nt need the latest stuff, but at the moment is neither able for Wireguard, nor is stateful ACL possible on my ER7212PC .

Thats somehow a bit of a dealbreaker. To be honest, if i knew that before I wouldn't have bought it.. Especially the ACL. Coming from Ubiquiti (smaller setup), something as allowing VLAN1 to connect to VLAN2 but deny VLAN2 to VLAN1 is a very basic feature.

As i read on the forums, its available in the newer versions but not on the ER7212PC ... So i can only hope that there will be an update or buy new equipment... I was hoping that TP-Link was either confirming or denying that this basic features will be brought to the ER7212PC .