All Omada Routers - Reduce Latency!

2023-12-26 02:27:12
Model: ER707-M2  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version:

I have mixed feelings on TPLink ......  The Omada system......  I work in IT doing basically L1-L3 HD/IT Setup type stuff with servers and we use a great mix of products.....  standard TP Link stuff, Omada Stuff, Ubiquitiy, PiVPN's and all the things .......

I've gone back to running a PfSense setup Hyper-V'd.......  and man the latency difference between my Omada setup and that is massive!  Even just going to speedtest.net watch the download/upload ping as it runs through.  The TPLink is basically 5-20x worse ON AVERAGE......

Fair enough I was running two cores of a AMD 5700G, 3GB RAM......  so much more beefy then the omada's cpu but still.......

PfSense can't do ALOT Omada offers.......  proper encrypted L2TP for Windows/iPhone connections......  VLAN doesn't work on it properly like Omada does....  Omada has MANY great features like if the router reset it self ........ depending on your setup in my case I have a OC200 cloud connected......... you can remote on via the cloud system and fix up whatever is needed, no port forwards required.

I like Omada.......  It's not perfect, I mean we use Dream Machines etc at work as well Ubiquitis .......  they are meh......  all much much the same.  

I think.......  TP Link you either need to focus on using better more beefier CPU's/RAM and or really focusing on adjusting the latency on all your product lineup.  It is REAL NOTICABLE in games......  It's very much like there is a packet que and the router struggles to get through it causing high latency and god forbid you have any small attack on ther router.

I mean I went from a ER605 to a ER707-M2......  to add RAM to help but the latency is a killer for me personally.  I've tried adjusting the TCP Timeouts to drop connections quicker etc, how can I get this latency issue sorted.