Need help setting up the openvpn client on secondary router Archer AX55

2 weeks ago - last edited a week ago
Model: Archer AX55  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.1.0 Build 20230128 rel.20162(5553)

Hello,

I am new to network configuration here and lost my way during the journey. Hope the community can guide me.

Recently, I bought the AX55 new router to delegate all the necessary functions of ISP modem/router combo to new router.

This means I will use it to provide wifi and ethernet to all home devices. The ISP unit will only provide internet to second router via lan cable. I can't totally replace the ISP unit due to ISP restriction.

I will turn off the wifi of ISP unit leaving it only purpose is to provide internet to second router.

For these goals, I successfully setup the AX55 as access point (make static IP, connect ISP unit LAN port to AX55 LAN port, disable DHCP on router 2).

But the problem now comes because I also intend to setup openvpn client on it.

But the openvpn client stuck at connecting to server as shown in pic below (I can connect to server with openvpn client). I noticed it is somehow because of there is no internet connection shown in AX55 interface (which I think is normal because it is configured to act like access point. The connection go through AX55 do have internet access. Just the management user interface shown no internet.)

Then, I tried connecting the ISP unit LAN port to WAN port of AX55. Then it now shows internet access and successfully connect to openvpn client.

But when I plug into WAN port of router 2, I could not set it in static IP. In AP mode above, I can set router 2 to static 192.168.100.2 while router 1 being 192.168.100.1.

But as soon as I plug into WAN port, no matter how I set static IP, reserve IP in router 1, etc. It become a random 192.168.100.*** .

Then, I think the whole IP mess up. I even could not access the router 2 (AX55) management web portal anymore and had to reset it many times.