Omada router on stick WAN VLAN setup help needed

2024-05-13 04:58:05
Model: ER707-M2  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.1.0

I'm migrating to this Omada controlled router from an OpenWRT setup. I'm still learning the Omada screens and options and am struggling to set up the WAN routing.

My router has a single ethernet cable passing a number of VLANs:

1 Mgmt LAN
2 WAN1

3 WAN2

101 Main LAN

110 IoT

etc

When I had a non-Omada router and just some Omada switches, I just had these all setup in Omada LAN settings as VLANs.

I've changed them now to "Interfaces" as I gather that's necessary so that I can define routing rules between them.

I'm not sure how to setup the WAN VLANs or routing though. WAN2 is actually Starlink, so there's a Starlink router at 192.168.1.1 which will assign IP addresses to its LAN clients. I currently have a port on a different switch connected to it and set to VLAN 3 (WLAN2). My old WRT router would get assigned an address eg 192.168.1.21 on that VLAN and I had a WAN interface setup on it.

How would I replicate this setting in Omada?

Thanks

I'm also sorely missing the local DNS and static host name options but I'm hoping that will be resolved soon.

Options
5 Reply
Re:Omada router on stick WAN VLAN setup help needed
2024-05-13 07:02:27

Hi @Madzter 

Thanks for posting in our business forum.

1. By default, there is no need to set up the WAN VLAN inter-routing. The router can create the routing tables automatically when you set up the VLAN interfaces.

2. WAN VLAN is not the same concept as LAN VLAN.

3. I don't follow this part. If possible, please try to expound this part with a diagram which would be perfect.

Madzter wrote