RE450 - cannot connect to source network

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-11-12 20:10:40
Model: RE450  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.0 Build 20160727 Rel. 63203

Hello,

I have been using this range extenmder successfully for several years but recently, I noticed that the 2.4 ghz and 5G leds were off. Here i what I tried:

1. I tested and restarted it trying to use WPS to synch with my router but it did not succeed
  2. I connected to it in ethernet and tested source network detection but it never saw my network
  3. I manually configured it but still it did not connect
  4. Looked at logs and saw many instances of this error: "2.4/5GHz failed the connection to the front end, due to: Scanning failed." 
  5. Did a hardware reset but still same error

Next, I will look for firmware update next but afraid the hardware is broken...

I am about to give up. Any ideas ? 

Dan

Options
5 Reply
Re:RE450 - cannot connect to source network
2019-11-13 02:43:20

@danico 

Hi Dan, from the log error, the RE450 failed to scan the main router's wifi, that is why it failed to connect to the main router. 

Try to customize the wireless settings of the main router first, including the wireless channel, for 2.4GHz, use channel 1, 6 and 11, and use channel 36, 40 and 44 for the 5GHz. 

After that you can reconfigure it as the instruction below: 

https://www.tp-link.com/support/download/re450/#video 

https://www.tp-link.com/support/faq/1400/

Note: This time, please login to the web UI of the RE450 to set it up. 

May it help.