Correct setup? And how to connect Deco M4 to the home phone.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-04-10 16:37:03
Model: Deco M4  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version:

Hi everybody,

I’m a IT noob and after a couple of hours searching google, youtube and these forums have had no success (mainly due to terminology) finding answers to two questions I have. 

I just purchased the TP-Link Deco M4 Mesh WLAN Set. I set it up by following the app instructions and plugging it into a DSL splitter (aka DSL filter. See attached image.) in the wall. I assumed the splitter is a sort of a modem(?). The installation worked and the wlan internet works smoothly on all devices and everything appears to be fine. 

My questions: 

1. Is my setup correct the way it is (Deco M4 conntected to a wall DSL splitter)? Or do I need to use my old router between the splitter and Deco? This would seem weird because I then have two wlan networks I believe. 

2. And how do I connect my home phone? I have an adapter for the TAE connector, so I could plug it into the Deco M4, which I did, but with no success. 

It is worth noting I live in Germany, therefore the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TAE_connector  

Thank you for your time!

Best regards,
Richard 

File:
IMG_001.jpgDownload
Options
1 Reply
Re:Correct setup? And how to connect Deco M4 to the home phone.
2020-04-15 12:05:36

@RichIII 

1. If you can set up the Deco without problems and Deco is working fine, it means that the port on the wall is an internet port, rather than a DSL splitter. There is no need to connect your old router between the wall port and the Deco.