Connect Deco X60 to Archer VR1600v

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-04-24 01:05:52

Hi

I'm new to all this so I apologise if this query has previously been answered or is a very simple issue to resolve.

I have just set up a new Archer VR1600v (provided by my ISP), which I also use to plug my old landline phone into for VoiP. I am now wanting set up a mesh system to cover my whole house as it is an old large house and the wifi signal from the Archer simply doesnt get to all locations in my property.

As I have a Wi-fi 6 (802.11.ax) enabled laptop (and am likely to get more Wi-fi 6 devices in the future), I want to get a Wi-fi 6 enabled mesh system, such as the Deco X60. 

My query is, can I simply get a Deco X60 and plug it into an ethernet (LAN) port my (non Wi-fi 6) Archer VR1600v? Will the Deco X60 system still use Wi-fi 6 if plugged into a non-Wif-fi 6 device?

I assume I would need to disable the Wi-fi on my Archer VR1600v and just use the Deco X60 for Wi-fi? Would my phone still work using VoiP as this relies on the Archer VR1600v?

Thanks for any clarification you can provide.

Options
4 Reply
Re:Connect Deco X60 to Archer VR1600v
2020-04-30 12:20:39

@Rooney77 

In your case, you can simply plug the Deco X60 to the LAN port of the Archer VR1600v modem, and the Deco X60 is still using Wi-Fi 6.

Normally, it's suggested to turn off the Wi-Fi on your modem to reduce the wireless interference between the modem and the X60. In this case, the phone that is using VoIP service is still working because the phone is connected to the modem via phone line, not Wi-Fi.

Options
2020-05-05 23:03:39

@TP-Link_Deco