TD-W8960N: Hotel owner has problem re MAC filtering

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2013-02-05 03:13:08
Region : Ireland

Model : TD-W8960N

Hardware Version : V4

Firmware Version : TD-W8960N

ISP : Vodafone Ireland

Hi all,

I am having a rather annoying problem. I run a small hotel (just 3 floors) and my modem gives a strong enough signal to provide wireless access to everybody in the house however I'm finding that a lot of people, whilst they can connect to the modem, cannot browse online. Connection just times out when they open their browsers.

Recently a guest gave me his laptop and asked me if I could do anything with it. I'm by no means an expert when it comes to this kind of thing so I chanced my arm by putting his MAC address into the CP's Wireless/MAC Filter page. He connected immediately and was able to go online much to my relief.

Thing is, I don't want to have to do this for every guest that comes through my door! Is there any way everybody who has a laptop can connect without me manually entering their MAC addresses?

MAC restrict mode is set to 'disabled' but I thought that would allow everybody unrestricted access?

Can someone help me out? I'm really confused.
Options
2 Reply
Re:TD-W8960N: Hotel owner has problem re MAC filtering
2013-02-05 05:16:22
Maybe typical hotspot? Will it be good idea?
Options
Re:TD-W8960N: Hotel owner has problem re MAC filtering
2013-02-07 09:54:11
you mean some one can break the wireless encryption of the TD-W8960N and access to it by wireless??
or you never encrypt your wireless network? if you use WPA2-PSK as the encryption mode,then type in a long and complex wireless password, i don't think anybody can crack it.
also you can change the password each month.