Archer C6 2.4GHz latency, packet loss problems

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-08-16 10:20:12
Model: Archer C6  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.3.5

Hello everyone!

This is my first time testing network equipment. My home network layout is as shown below:

Did not check what firmware the Archers came with. Updated all to 1.3.4 due to the 2.4Ghz channel being stuck on 5. On 1.3.4, when all 3 2.4Ghz networks were online (with guest networks also online), I could induce packet losses and latency spikes for all devices connected to the network by loading the network using 1 device – just browsing through a news feed or social media from my phone really fast. The devices use the same SSID and password. From the monitoring device, it looked like this:

Wifi signals at the monitoring device looked like:

Disabling one of the networks resulted in a reduction of packet losses and latency spikes, but they were still present (here r0 and f0 are active, f1 disabled):

Just running 1 network, packet losses and latency problems were reduced further, but didn’t go away (only r0 active):

So I upgraded firmware for all three to 1.3.5. Stability improved dramatically and packet losses and latency spikes have gone down with the three networks active. However, if I go to the edge of the network and load it, there are spikes in packet losses and latency:

This is not normal behaviour right? How do I fix this? The devices are all brand new and still under warranty.

Options
25 Reply
Re:Archer C6 2.4GHz latency, packet loss problems
2020-08-19 07:56:32 - last edited 2020-08-19 12:37:05

Update: Not only at the edge of the network. Packet losses on the monitoring device can be induced from anywhere in the network.

Someone please help with this. @Kevin_Z @TP-Link 

Options