Failed To Obtain IP Address

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-10-26 15:04:06 - last edited 2020-10-26 17:52:07
Model: TL-WA850RE  
Hardware Version: V4
Firmware Version: 1.0.0 Build 20170109 Rel. 58858

Hi, newbie here,

Apologies if this topic has been covered before.

I am using my TL-WA850RE as an access point with ethernet provided through a pair of Belkin Powerline Adapters. The system works well with my IPhone and my Galaxy Tab A (SM-T510) running Android 10 and my old Galaxy Tab S2 (SM-T710) but not with my wife's Kindle Fire, on this device the error "Failed To Obtain IP Address" keeps coming up. This error doesn't occur when the device is attached directly to the router WiFi nor does it happen when it is attached to my Netgear access point. Is there anything within the TL-WA850RE that would cause this issue? I don't really want to mess with the settings as it works fine with my other devices.

Many thanks in advance.

Options
6 Reply
Re:Failed To Obtain IP Address
2020-10-30 11:15:52

@The-Driver 

Good day,

Sorry for the delay.

Was the Kindle Fire the only device which failed to connect TL-WA850RE?

Have you tried to reboot the Kindle to have a look?

Did this issue start since you bought 850RE

If possible, can I have a specification link of the Kindle Fire?

Thanks a lot for your time and patience.

Options
2020-11-01 09:48:46

@Solla-topee 

Hello and thank you for replying to my query.

Yes the Kindle Fire (7th edition UK) is the only device that fails to connect now the TL-WA850RE is configured as an access point but it connected perfectly well when the 850RE was configured as a range extender.

I have tried re-booting the Kindle Fire several times and each time it fails to obtain the IP address of the 850RE.