Archer C80 AC1900 - very slow speed

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-04-29 09:38:13 - last edited 2021-04-29 12:16:53
Model: Archer C80  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.5.7 Build 210308 Rel.60033n(5553)

Hello,

I am starting this thread because I have been having a lot of issues with my Archer C80 router. I purchased it two months ago, expecting I would get good wifi coverage throughout the house and proper wifi speeds (I have a 50MBPS subscription to NBN in Australia).

I have been experiencing problems where the connection becomes slow and unresponsive for weeks now. This is driving me (and the family) nuts...

To narrow it down to the router, I tried the below.

Speed tests:
    . while connected on the wifi
    . while connected via ethernet cable to the router
    . while connected directly to the modem

The test results show that I get normal speeds if connected directly to the modem, but really slow speeds if connected to the router, both on wifi and wired connection. See attached screenshots for tests taken successively.

In the beginning, I also suspected wifi interference, so I tried shortening the beacon interval and changing other parameters. The problem kept coming back. 

Currently I am running default parameters and the latest firmware version.I have also ruled out the ethernet cable because I used that same cable to connect directly to the modem and obtained proper speed.I even tried moving the router, on the idea that there might electromagnetic interference from some other cable. I have also tried turning off all other electronic equipment. All this had no effect.

With the above speed tests, it really looks like something is wrong with the router. Posting this thread is my last resort before getting a refund and changing router.