TP-Link Archer T4u does not have option to provide 5Ghz mobile hotspot, or change preferred band.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

TP-Link Archer T4u does not have option to provide 5Ghz mobile hotspot, or change preferred band.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-09-23 13:18:40
Model: Archer T4U  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: Archer T4U(US)_V3_181023_Win

I have a TP-Link Archer T4u, I have been using it for a few months with minor issues, but able to connect to 5Ghz wifi normally when i have the proper drivers. Recently i switched to ethernet, and decided to use it as a mobile hotspot on my pc. The hotspot works, except it only works on 2.4Ghz, with no option to change to 5Ghz. I searched up a solution which is to go to Device Manager>TP-Link adapter>Properties>Advanced. The options that should appear(for example: preferred band) just like on any 5ghz adapter is not there. These are screenshots of my screen and what it should have been, on an intel laptop capable of connecting to 5ghz wifi. My main purpose is just to enable 5Ghz mobile hotspot, does anyone have a solution?

Options
3 Reply
Re:TP-Link Archer T4u does not have option to provide 5Ghz mobile hotspot, or change preferred band.
2021-09-24 10:12:23

Hey @Lauzt1 , 

May I know do you use Windows 10?  Microsoft seems to have a troubleshooting guide for this issue, you could give it a check : 

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000029083/wireless/intel-wireless-products.html

Ensure your Windows version is up-to-date. 

Try this chipset driver for  and see if it helps with the issue
https://static.tp-link.com/beta/2021/202101/20210108/RTLWlanU_WindowsDriver_1030.41.0514.2020_Drv_3.00.0036(26078).zip