Deco M4R v2 going mad (red light after internet outage)

2024-01-16 17:05:52
Model: Deco M4  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.5.8 Build 20230619 Rel. 48552

Hi all,

I have problems with my DECO mesh system - it's going from time to time mad after internet outage. I tried it to solve via contacting the support (TKID231222021), but I get mostly only copy/paste advices from cookbook even if I asked to forward the issue to higher support level

I have some questions:

• is there someone from higher support level who can go in touch with me to find the root cause? I'm a freelance IT admin and I suspect FW issue...
  • is there some manual how to obtain logs from DECO via CWMP as DECO doesn't support syslog servers (and after reboot is the log empty)?

So, now let's dive into my issue:

• I have 3 DECO M4R v2 in a AP mode with ETH backhaul - one on each floor of my house
  • firmware is the latest version available (1.5.8 Build 20230619 Rel. 48552)
  • if the internet connection goes lost, the main DECO is going mad, LED is red and whole wireless network is down
  • I have setup ping monitoring using KUMA and I can see, that all three aren't pingable/connectable at random intervals after the outage till the main DECO isn't powercycled
  • while this, the DECOs aren't accessible via app nor web interface
  • The KUMA is also monitoring the 8.8.8.8 by ping (Google DNS) and I can see, that the main DECO goes mad right after the internet connection is lost
  • the situation goes back to normal when I power cycle the main DECO - there is no need to reboot all of them

additional observations:

• it seems, that the problem (main DECO going mad) occurs only during night - in the last couple of weeks I got several outages from 2 minutes to 1 hour during daytime - and all was fine (my ISP A1 resets the xDSL line every 1-2 weeks and assigns new WAN IP address to the DSL router - their justification is to cleanup the DHCP pool laugh)