Setting up an Easy Mesh with RE705X and Archer VX1800v

a week ago
Model: RE705X  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version:

I am new to this so I need a step by step to help me understand!

I have an Archer VX1800v modem router and I want to set up a easymesh with the RE705X range extender. 

Every time I pair the devices it always gives the extender the same ssid but with (ssid)_EXT.

How do i set up a mesh as the ssid's surely need to be the same in order for seamless connection?

I know I can change this manually, but how do i know my device is connecting to the extender when I am near it if I manually match the ssid's?

I have enabled easymesh on both the router and the extender.

Am I also correct in thinking that if the range extender is used as a mesh, the signal strength will not increase, where as using it as a repeater/extender, the signal strength will increase?

Thanks in advance for any help!!

Options
7 Reply
Re:Setting up an Easy Mesh with RE705X and Archer VX1800v
a week ago

@Biffab 

Hi,

I remember someone else had similar issues before when he combined the wireless bands of the ISP router.

On certain TP-Link routers made for distribution by ISPs this is called something like "Band Steering", while on regular retail routers it's called "Smart Connect".

Apparently these two are not compatible with each other.

In case your VX1800v has this "Band Steering" option and it is currently enabled, then disable it and test again.

Whether the RE705X is used as wireless Mesh node or as wireless repeater/extender makes no difference with regards to signal strength. Just the (software) protocols used are different.

Options
a week ago - last edited a week ago

@Biffab 

Thanks for the advice. I have tried that but It gives me a the second ssid_5G

When it is set as ssid_EXT and I test the strength of the signal next to the extender, the signal strength is 99% as you would expect.