Archer C5 V4 - Option for WDS Bridging.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-10-12 17:30:48
Model: Archer C5  
Hardware Version: V4
Firmware Version: 3.16.0 0.9.1 v6015. 0 Build 220524 Rel. 36466n

Hardware version : Archer C5 v4 00000004

Firmware version : 3.16.0 0.9.1 v6015. 0 Build 220524 Rel. 36466n

I have been using this router for the past 4 years, it has been serving me well and I am happy with the product. This router was provided by my ISP. 

Recently I have changed my ISP, and i have been thinking of re using this router as a wifi extender/WDS, along with my existing new ISP connection. 

But the admin panel on this router doesn't show any option to enable such functionality. Does this router support wifi extender or WDS mode? If yes, can you provide me the firmware that will enable the functionality. 

Thanks in advance. 

Options
3 Reply
Re:Archer C5 V4 - Option for WDS Bridging.
2022-10-13 00:29:27

@Hari_vp 

Have you checked in Advanced > Wireless > Advanced Settings page ?

Here's the Archer C5 v4 user guide.

Keep in mind that this device is targeted to ISPs and its FW is customized - only the ISP can help you if this option is missing.

If this was helpful click once on the arrow pointing upward. If this solves your issue, click once the star to mark it as a "Recommended Solution".
Options
2022-10-13 02:43:45

@terziyski 

Yes I checked for option to turn on WDS bridging in the admin panel, and it is not there. My ISP said that they cannot do anything as they do not have any firmware control other than the stock FW they get out of the box. 

Does this mean that i am not going to be able to re-use this router without custom firmware? 

Options
2022-10-13 14:36:04 - last edited 2022-10-14 04:19:51

@Hari_vp