RE230 - One WiFi Name: - does it just happen via setup?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-09-17 14:59:04
Model: RE220  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: Unknown

There isn't a choice for the RE230 in the "Model" drop down for starting a thread so I picked RE220...my question relates to the RE230.

I'm a novice at this, so this is possibly a really dumb question.

One of the features of the device is "One WiFi Name.  No more switching WiFi network names."

I am using this extender with the router provided to me by ATT; it is not a TP-Link router.

I went through the setup of the extender and what resulted is two new WiFi networks.  I was hoping to have that cool sounding "one wifi name" thing happen.  Example:

Name of native / unextended WiFi network that I want to extend:     WiFi

Name of extended 2g network after setting up the 230:   WIFI_2GEXT

Name of extended 5g network after setting up the 230:  WIFI_5GEXT

It appears that to connect to the extended network, I have to, well, connect to the extended network using a different SSID specifically.  

How can I set the device up so that the extended network is just that and not a separate SSID?

I hope that question makes sense.

Options
4 Reply
Re:RE230 - One WiFi Name: - does it just happen via setup?
2020-09-17 17:53:57

@GBRNC 

I think the one Wi-Fi name refers to our OneMesh feature: https://www.tp-link.com/us/onemesh/

You would use our router and an extender that gives an OneMesh network which gives one Wi-Fi name.

You can still change the Wi-Fi name of the extender to be the same name of the router so you get one network name. What will happen is the router nor the extender will control what your devices connect to, it will be up to the device itself.