Reboot Router

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Reboot Router

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
Reboot Router
Reboot Router
2021-01-06 22:01:22

I've been using Kasa SmartPlugs for a couple of years now, and think they are the BEST (I have tried 4 other brands)...

I have a need to periodically reboot a Router remotely; ideally, only once a month, but would be OK with weekly if the following schedule would work:

OFF at 4:01 AM on Wednesdays

ON at 4:05 AM on Wednesdays

ALTERNATIVELY,

Set up the SmartPlug with NO schedule, so it is ALWAYS ON, and

Manually toggle it off then on remotely via the App

I would be interested in any comments on how this might work or FAIL.  A failure to restart would cause the other devices (PCs, Monitors, etc) to be down.  I intend to test this locally, but first wanted to get some feedback on this potential solution, or other ideas.

FYI, I have not yet tested triggering a SmartPlug state remotely, when I am NOT on the same network, and must first determine if that works.

My thanks in advance...

Options
8 Reply
Re:Reboot Router
2021-01-06 22:10:55

@HDL-NYC The on/off schedule works fine. I have mine set for 1am on monday.

Options
2021-01-06 22:19:38 - last edited 2021-01-06 22:19:59

@B.Will   Thank YOU!!!

Have you ever had a need to trigger the SmartPlug when your were away?   If so, how did that work?

Also, under what conditions, if any, have you ever been unable to trigger the SmartPlug?

Options
2021-01-06 22:35:12

@HDL-NYC I have remotely controled smart plug and bulb with out any problem.

You should not remotely turn off your router, because you will not be able to turn it back on remotely with the router down.

Options
2021-01-06 22:52:06

@B.Will THANK YOU !!!