Omada SOFTWARE Controller

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-10-20 06:45:32 - last edited 2023-10-23 06:08:52

Hi everyone !

I'm new to TP-Link and Omada Controller. I'm trying to install the Omada Software Controller in order to get an access and a view of my different EAPs (I got 225 and 225-Outdoor). 

I also have several questions : 

- Do I have the obligation to use TP-Links switches and routers or can I use HP models by example.

- I downloaded the Omada Software Controller, I didn't see my EAP when I configured it, can I add them by myself after?

- Does someone have a link or something which could help me configure my LANs, WLANs and other ? The only things I can find are linked to the Omada HARDWARE Controller

I am using the Omada Software Controller with the latest version of it (5.12.7). I downloaded it on a VM with Windows Server 2019.

My Controller is in the same network that my EAPs and I can ping them (they respond correctly) and provides their network

I wish u all a good day and I hope you'll be able to help me.

Ohh and please don't mind my English, I'm French so I'm trying my best btw

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Omada SOFTWARE Controller-Solution
2023-10-20 22:07:37 - last edited 2023-10-23 06:08:52

@Nezdia 

Hello and Welcome

I hopefully should be able to answer your questions!

- Do I have the obligation to use TP-Links switches and routers or can I use HP models by example.

No.   As long as the controller can talk to the APs, then it can control them regardless of what switch manufactuer you choose.   If you are just after managed WiFi, this wil work with any switch / router.  However if you want certain controller features (WAN filtering, Speed Restrictions, VLAN etc) then you will need appropiate Omada hardware.