Help Needed: Apple Devices Communicating Across VLANs - Novice Learning VLAN Setup

Help Needed: Apple Devices Communicating Across VLANs - Novice Learning VLAN Setup

2024-08-05 20:27:35 - last edited 2024-08-09 07:02:29
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 2.2.4

Hey

I'm a novice in networking, and I've been trying to set up a home network using TP-Link Omada equipment. My setup includes a Router (ER605), a Switch (SG2016P), 2 Access Points (EAP653), and a Controller (OC200). I've created several VLANs to segment my network for different types of devices, but I'm running into an issue where things work, but not as I expected, and I'm trying to understand why smiley

VLAN Configuration (Wired Networks > LAN):

• Default (VLAN 10): 192.168.10.1/24 (Interface)
  • IoT (VLAN 20): 192.168.20.1/24 (Interface)
  • NoT (VLAN 30): 192.168.30.1/24 (Interface)

WiFi (Wireless Networks > WLAN):

• EA: WPA-Personal, 5 GHz & 6 GHz, VLAN 10
  • EA_IoT: WPA-Personal, 2.4 GHz, VLAN 20
  • EA_NoT: WPA-Personal, 2.4 GHz, VLAN 30

The "Issue":

When I connect my Apple iPhone 15 Pro to any of these wireless networks (VLANs), it can still see and connect to my Apple TV for screen mirroring, even though the Apple TV is on a different VLAN. This happens with the iPhone is connected to EA (VLAN 10), EA_IoT (VLAN 20), and EA_NoT (VLAN 30). I expected the screen mirroring to only work when both devices are on the same VLAN (When my iPhone is on EA - VLAN 10).

I have confirmed that the iPhone is receiving IP addresses in the correct subnets, when connected to the different SSID's:

• EA: 192.168.10.x
  • EA_IoT: 192.168.20.x
  • EA_NoT: 192.168.30.x

And that the AppleTV is on the Default VLAN 10.