How to configure routing across OpenVPN tunnel

2 weeks ago
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 2.2.6 Build 20240718 Rel.82712

Hello!

I'm completely new to OMADA and acquired an ER605 device for testing purposes and see if it's a good fit for my company's network.

The goal is to replace a legacy Linux server running as a border gateway between 4 networks (WAN / DMZ / LAN / VPN using OpenVPN)

Where I'm struggling is with routing and firewall access control rules (AKA iptables FORWARD rules?).

My OpenVPN server is configured to push routes to the client, which doesn't seem to happen with the OpenVPN client on this router.

I tried to configure these route statically, but the web GUI does not allow me access to the VPN tunnel interface, which surfaces the first question:

How do I configure specific routes through a VPN?

On a traditional gateway, I'd expect to have access to the VPN interface so that I can create access control rules, but It seems I can't do that here.

How do I define that the firewall should allow traffic from the VPN network into my DMZ/LAN, but NOT through WAN?

That is, traffic can flow from the VPN network, but cannot be NATed out of the WAN managed by this router.

How do I tell this router that the LAN should not have access to the VPN?

That is, packets can flow from LAN to VPN, but only if established already. Most importantly, NOT THROUGH NAT.

For an advanced router, this product seems confusing to me. Please point me the right way.

Options
10 Reply
Re:How to configure routing across OpenVPN tunnel
2 weeks ago

@PedroPeixoto 

policy route for OpenVPN is just around the corner, it is said that it will come in controller version 5.15, now the server has to push the route, there is nothing you can do on the omada router with it.

OpenVPN on Omada routers also does not support OpenVPN 2.4 or later. so you must have a server with a version lower than 2.4

Options
2 weeks ago

@MR.S