ER7206 - Whick VPN is "best"

2024-08-04 22:50:47 - last edited 2024-08-05 01:07:05
Model: ER7206 (TL-ER7206)  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.4.2 Build 20240618 Rel.63827

We have people (US based) traveling to Europe this summer and I would like to provide a VPN solution for their Windows PCs and iOS devices (iPad, iPhone, etc).

The ER7206 has several VPN options. And, (from what I gather), OpenVPN seems to be the preferred VPN option.

I have dual, load balancing ISP connections (Frontier 1Gbps and Spectrum 300Mbps) and I have a Dynu dynamic DNS account that resolves to whichever ISP replied at the time an update was request (an app requests an update every 30 mins).

Even though the ER7206 is setup to use DHCP for the ISP WAN connections, the ISP never seem to change the IP address we get. I guess we could use the IP address instead of the address that the Dynu domain resolves to.

I'm new to setting up a VPN on my firewall.

I've had FWs that supported VPN's in the past, but only tried once using PPTP to a Windows server, and that wasn't great.

Assuming this isn't stupid, I envision a VPN where all traffic from the client passes back through the ER7206 to the main network for file and services and back out through the ER7206 to the Internet for anything that is outside.

So, I'd like to hear from the "community" about which of the ER7206-supported VPNs is better than the rest in terms of initial FW and client setup.

If there is a commercial option, I'd be interested in that.

I've read that the ER7206 can be setup with NordVPN for a "whole network VPN". But we don't need that right now.

Thx

Options
4 Reply
Re:ER7206 - Whick VPN is "best"
2024-08-05 01:17:50

Hi @ticedoff8 

Thanks for posting in our business forum.