AP or Repeater

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

AP or Repeater

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
AP or Repeater
AP or Repeater
2018-03-30 18:43:50
Model :

Hardware Version :

Firmware Version :

ISP :

Hi guys,

I have been using this setup for the past 4 months or so.

I have a router in my lounge. Across the garden (small garden) I have the garage. In there is a tp-wa801nd with an ethernet cable coming out of the back, going into a Netgear switch which then goes to four computers. This has been working fine the whole time. A friend helped me set it up.

Now I have a new router in my lounge and so the name and password is new.

I have connected the tp-wa801nd to the router and have reset it. I can get WiFi from the tp-wa801nd.

When I go into the garage and plug it in, it cannot be found. I'm trying to set it up as a access point.

Is this correct?

Thanks.
Options
1 Reply
Re:AP or Repeater
2018-03-31 23:57:41
Normally Access Points are connected via LAN to Main Router and then provide Wireless Access from where they are placed , so in your situation if you had a LAN cable to garage then plugged it into WA801 it would give you wireless in garage or if you have a switch plug LAN into switch first the plug WA801 into switch so you have LAN and Wireless AP in garage.

If you use it as a Repeater then it will connect wirelessly to Router in house and repeat the signal into garage and maybe give you LAN access from the port in the back
( this is dependant on the WA801 if it supports that ) which the switch can be plugged into as well.

Remember to make sure your Main Router doesn't have AUTO set for wireless channel if doing Repeater Mode, it must be fixed to a channel or as soon as it changes the WA801 will lose it.