VPN Clients on TP-Link Routers

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-08-21 11:33:49 - last edited 2021-04-29 02:09:01
Model: Archer C2300  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 2.0.3 Build 20180611 Rel. 77668

Hi,

I have been using ASUS Routers for quite some time now. So recently I purchased this C2300 from Amazon and while the coverage is excellent as compared to my ASUS RT66U, I encountered a show-stopper - No VPN Clients!

I have a NordVPN subscription and I would create profiles using the OpenVPN clients (well, ASUS have included PPTP, L2TP and OpenVPN clients in their routers, besides a VPN Server) and always have my devices access the Internet securely. Plus I would be able to overcome some geo-restrictions.

Now I am forced to run TWO routers simultaneously, since TP-Link do not have built-in VPN clients.

It is for this reason I must ask TP-Link: ¿Que esta pasando?

What is going on that we cannot have outbound VPN from home? I don't really think the VPN Server in your routers are more useful than having VPN clients, but even if that weren't the case, the VPN clients wouldn't use as much reasources because it does only the tunneling, as opposed to the Server which does the processing.

I have the Archer A7 and this Archer C2300 which both don't have the VPN Clients.

I could be upgrading to the Archer C3150v2 or maybe the C4000v2 (and that would end my quest for High Speeds), but still the issue is that there are high-end routers WITHOUT VPN Clients!!

TP-Link, please tell me.

Options
2 Accepted Solutions
Re:VPN Clients on TP-Link Routers-Solution
2019-08-21 16:43:14 - last edited 2021-04-29 02:09:01

@odhiambo