Is the TL-SG105 switch a good choice for IPTV?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-10-13 14:11:57 - last edited 2019-10-21 08:52:38
Model: TL-SG105  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: No idea.

I was looking for a switch to buy to use with my 2 IPTV boxes (and regular Internet). I saw that the TL-SG105 switch (unmanaged) had support for "IGMP snooping" (my IPTV provider doesn't use VLAN). I am not a network expert (I barely know anything about networks to be honest) but I have heard that "IGMP snooping" is a good feature to have if you intend to connect IPTV to the switch... but I have also heard that some IPTV services will get their connection blocked by the switch if "IGMP snooping" is enabled. Is there any truth to this? Can I expect my two IPTV boxes to work with the TL-SG105 switch?

How does IGMP snooping work on an unmanaged switch anyway (I have never seen "IGMP snooping" be advertised by any other unmanaged switch so I am pretty confused)? I was under the impression that IGMP snooping only worked on managed switches. Is there a way to turn off IGMP snooping if it ends up causing issues with my IPTV (since the switch is unmangaed/non-configureable I am guessing that that is not possible)?

Sorry for asking many questions.

Thanks!

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Is the TL-SG105 switch a good choice for IPTV?-Solution
2019-10-18 14:30:20 - last edited 2019-10-21 08:52:45

@Kevin_Z Yeah, I got the switch today and plugged it in. Everything, including IPTV, works with no problems! :)

Guess I was worried for nothing. 

Recommended Solution
Options
5 Reply
Re:Is the TL-SG105 switch a good choice for IPTV?
2019-10-14 09:21:00 - last edited 2019-10-25 11:42:09

@Schytheron