Speedtest issues

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Speedtest issues

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
Speedtest issues
Speedtest issues
2020-04-08 22:37:24
Model: Deco M5  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: 1.4.4

Hello everyone, 

This is my first time on the forums, so I wanted to start by thanking everyone in advance for any advice they can offer.

I'm very much an everyday home user, I'm not very techy in the way of networks. Apolpogies is this is a noob question.

I'm getting download speeds of around 90mbps when I test the speed through the deco app, however when I do a speedtest (by ookla) on my laptop or phone it doesn't go past 40mbps. Is there an obvious reason why this would be the case?? Maybe my deco settings are off?

My phone is placed directly next to the deco unit, which is hard wired to my modem so i'm assuming there's no interference issues.

Thank you

Options
3 Reply
Re:Speedtest issues
2020-04-08 22:57:59

@Nathan123 

There's a couple of other people experiencing the same issues, see the US forum:

https://community.tp-link.com/us/home/forum/topic/202492

Hope we can get this fixed ASAP

Options
2020-04-09 03:10:00

@Nathan123 

Hi, what is the bandwidth you paid for your ISP? 

What is the current network diagram?

With a computer connected to the main Deco by wired cable directly, what is the speed you can get from it? 

Have you ever enabled QoS on the Deco app? Please set the total bandwidth as "Get via Internet Speed Test" and change the application QoS to standard. 

Good day. 

Options
2020-04-14 09:59:31

@Nathan123 

Hi All, 

thank you for your responses, I went dark over the Easter break to spend time with my family (I'm usually always working).