Hs200 issue with multiple switches

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-08-10 18:04:00

My issue is I installed 2 switches. Both single pole. I got them both to load and show up on my app. The issue is when I turn on the switch on my master bath it turns on the switch in my hall bath also. Does it from the switch or from the app. If I turn the hall bath switch on it doesn't turn the master on. I'm an electrician and have been doing this for 30 years but these wifi switches are a new thing for me. Anyone have an idea?  Both baths are on the same electrical circuit but I don't think that should matter. My brother has 20+ of these switches and plugs and doesn't have this isdue

Options
11 Reply
Re:Hs200 issue with multiple switches
2020-08-10 18:23:04
Definitely a wiring problem. The single pole switch is a simple single pole relay that replaces the old switch. Line in powers the switch (through neutral) and is switched by the relay to load out. If it's activating anything else it's a mixup of line/load or possibly a misuse of neutral - sounds like you've wired the tp link load out into the line in of the downstream bathroom.
AutomationManager: Secure home automation without relying on cloud servers.
Options
2020-08-10 20:50:51

@MikeP would that allow the switch in the master also turn on the hall?  The hall also works by itself when he master isn't on.  I'm gonna pull the switch out and see if the lines are switched. I'm use to a line /load on a gfi and the if wired wrong the load doesn't work at all. I'll give it a shot and post up if it works

Options
2020-08-10 22:46:58