Switching from DSL modem to Wireless Router for Fibre Connection

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-04-01 22:44:56
Model: Archer VR900  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: Firmware Version:0.5.0 0.9.1 v0069.0 Build 210322 Beta.32622n

So I'm probably missing something.

I've been using the vr900 with my talktalk connection for a couple of years

I got EE full fibre installed today. I had thought i could just connect the ethernet from the fibre connection to the VR900. That doesn't work.

Then I thought I could connect the VR900 to one of the ouput ports of the EE router and disable the WIfi on the EE router, but that doesn't work. 

I did a factory reset, but still nothing.

I changed the IP Range  on EE to 192.168.100.x to avoid a conflict and tried disabling DHCP but no luck

I'd really like to be able to keep using the VR900 and not have to try to connect every single smart device in the house to the new router.

Any hints?

Thanks

Options
6 Reply
Re:Switching from DSL modem to Wireless Router for Fibre Connection
2021-04-02 11:55:54

@Bridawg 

Hey

Just thinking out loud here but this should work!

On the back of your VR600 you have a WAN/LAN port.  You will need to use this to connect to the EE Router (any port on the EE) and disable the WiFi on the EE as you said

On the VR600 under operation mode you will need to change this to Wireless Router Mode as shown below.  This basically disables the VDSL modem and looks on the WAN/LAN port for an internet connection, which in your case is EE. 

If I was you, i would keep the 2x devices on different IP subnets..  namely   EE on 192.168.1.x range   and   VR600 on 192.168.0.x   range or vice versa, you get the idea!    I wouldn't mix the 2 routers on the same subnet