Kasa 3 gang face plate.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Kasa 3 gang face plate.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
Kasa 3 gang face plate.
Kasa 3 gang face plate.
2020-07-14 18:34:39

I am new to these switches. I have a 3 gang panel that I want to put 1 smart switch in and leave 2 dumb switches. However the kasa top and bottom are too thick so it appears that you either replace all 3 with smart switches or none. Is this right?

Also even if I replace all 3, seems they the faceplate won't sit flush with the wall. 

Seems rediculous that the company would make a faceplate (other than one gang) to fit their own switches. Am I missing something? Strongly considering returning. 

Options
7 Reply
Re:Kasa 3 gang face plate.
2020-07-15 01:37:39 - last edited 2020-07-15 01:38:53

@Tgod288 

Same issue here.  It seems the although the Kasa switches work well, are from a major brand, and are very nicely prices - someone dropped the ball when they went with the thick ears and the bright white color.  I've got 11 installed (and a few more to go), and found this issue when I picked up dumb switches and covers.

I assume you are referring to screwless covers?  The thicker Kasa face (proud from the wall) causes the mounting frame to sit higher, which causes the snap-on cover to have a gap to the wall.

Did you find color-compatible dumb switches?  I have Leviton (HD), Eaton (Lowes), and LeGrand (Menards), and all are darker than the bright white of the Kasa.  Same issue with the cover plates.  The Legrand is the least offensive, although it is matte vs. the glossy of the Kasa and the other switches.

This seems to be a common complaint for a couple years.  I imagine some people won't notice or care.  Others - like me - will grind their teeth with each lightswitch they pass in the house.