My new Tapo C200 won't connect to my 2.4G Wifi

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-11-19 16:45:52 - last edited 2020-11-24 09:13:33
Model: Tapo C200  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

I've been using the Tapo App for several years and currently have 2 Tapo plugs and 5 Tapo C200 cameras attached to it. They are all working fine.

I've just purchased a new Tapo C200 and trying to add it to the system but am experiencing a problem. I follow the instructions, switch on the C200, wait for it to flash green/red which it does. Then connect my mobile device to the temporary Tapo Wifi network shown in my list of available Wifi networks and so far that's all fine and confirmed. Then the app  tells me that the C200 is not connected to my home Wifi and claims there is no appropriate 2.4G Wifi signal availalable for the C200 to use. This surprises me as my mobile device hosting the app is connected to my home 2.4G Wifi (which has a strong signal) and working fine. So then I have to use the option offered by the app to manually specify an alternative 2.4G Wifi network. But I only have the 2.4G network to which the mobile device is connected and which I have been using for many years. So I manually type in my home 2.4G Wifi network & password to which my mobile device is connected and tell it to complete the connection.