Deco M9 Plus slow speeds with strong internet connection

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Deco M9 Plus slow speeds with strong internet connection

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
106 Reply
Re:Deco M9 Plus slow speeds with strong internet connection
2020-10-06 21:58:20

I am an IT Tech and recently installed the TP-Link Deco X20 system with 3 hubs in my home. After installing I upped my ISP internet service from 200Mps/10Mps to 400Mps/20Mps, but I was still only pulling 200Mps/10Mps range speeds. Two things that needed to be done to resolve the issue in my case: 1st- Power Cycle all network devices Modem, Router, Satelite Routers and UnManaged Switch. 2nd- Within the Deco app navigate to HomeCare/QoS you will see Total Bandwith select and run TEST, after make sure to Save. For me the Deco system was working prior to the upgrade, but the QoS option needed to be updated to know what data it had available to alocate.

Options
2020-10-08 18:20:33

So, here is my solution after about 6 months of semi-troubleshooting.

My initial setup below

Fios ONT => Deco m9 Plus - router mode (basement)

Mesh connected Deco m5 (basement)

Mesh connected Deco m9 plus (living room - main level)

Mesh connected Deco m5 (bedroom - main level)

Mesh connected Deco m9 plus (bedroom - 2nd level)

Mesh connected Deco m5 (bedroom - 2nd level)

As of today, I terminated the rest of the coax jacks in the basement because I noticed every room had coax. but never activated.  I then purchased MoCA adaptors for ethernet-over-coax to then connect to the Deco units.

My set up now

Fios ONT => Ubiquiti Edgerouter X (router) => AP mode Deco m9 Plus (basement) => MoCA adapter => coax splitter that goes throughout the house

Coax => MoCA adapter => AP mode Deco m9 plus (living room - main level)