Is the AX11000 good? Do you recommend it?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-09-08 22:55:12
Model: Archer AX11000  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hey everybody,

I'm shopping for a new router, having decided to finally upgrade from my Netgear R8500.  I've been on the fence between the TP Link AX11000, Asus ROG AX11000, and Netgear AX11000.  Something positive I liked about the TP Link was the 8-port switch, whereas the others have 4-port.  Eventually when I buy a house in a couple years and have room for a rack, I'll upgrade to a full Ubiquiti/Cisco environment (I work as a Network admin by trade, but no room for high-grade equipment currently).  Right now I'm looking for something that can provide solid coverage through a townhouse, as well as the surrounding area outside.  Price isn't a problem.  I upgraded to Gigabit through Comcast about 6 months ago, and my current router can only pump out wifi speeds up to like 400Mbps, and I'd like to better utilize my connection.

I've heard in reviews that the Netgear has tested the poorest for wifi speeds.  It seems the Asus performs the best at range (like 100 feet), but the TP Link performs better at closer ranges.  However, I heard a lot of people were having issues with the current firmware on the TP Link AX11000.  Not sure if that's true or not.  Hopefully someone here can shed some light on that.  Also, have you noticed slowdowns with settings on like QoS, IPS, etc?