Need WiFi in my barn!!

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Need WiFi in my barn!!

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
Need WiFi in my barn!!
Need WiFi in my barn!!
2020-11-11 21:42:10 - last edited 2020-11-12 02:48:20

First off, I have very little knowledge as it relates to wifi networks - so go easy on me .  My wife and I have a barn approximately 250 feet behind our house - we spend a ton of time in the barn and want to add wifi.  We also do a fair amount of yard work between the barn and the house and would like to have a consistent signal in this space.  I recently ran a 220 electric line from the house to the barn and decided to go ahead and add a cat5 line that will be attached in the house to my TP-Link AC2300 router.  The cat5 in the barn will get plugged into my smart TV... I also want to then broadcast a signal for wireless coverage in the barn and in the space between the barn and the house.  I'm good on plugging the cat5 into the back of the TV.  Question is what additional equipment do I need for the wireless signal?  Thanks in advance for any and all help!!

Options
7 Reply
Re:Need WiFi in my barn!!
2020-11-12 00:08:33 - last edited 2020-11-17 23:46:51

@dkratt 

Since you ran a Cat5 already to the barn you could grab any typical router to give Wi-Fi, and just plug the TV into the available LAN ports. We do have the EAP225-Outdoor, but that won't provide the Ethernet connection you need for your TV.

I'm thinking of possibly adding an Archer C7 at the end of the Ethernet? Should give Wi-Fi surrounding the barn.

Options
2020-11-12 02:34:04

@Tony - thank you!  Will the c7 give the same coverage as the EAP255?  If the AP does give more coverage then I can just not worry about the TV - coverage is more important.  Also, why the EAP255 and not the 225?  Thanks again Tony!

Options