Identifying DHCP clients

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Identifying DHCP clients

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
Identifying DHCP clients
Identifying DHCP clients
2021-01-25 16:03:45

Personal background - just retiring from a 40 year career in IT, so have more than 'consumer' knowledge of networking, but networking was not my lane. I'm no network engineer.

For several years I  have had a TP-Link wireless router.  In identifying it for this thread, the label on the front says AC1750.  When I open the admin page (192.168.0.1) the Status page reports '

Hardware Version:
Archer C7 v2 00000000

My question is how to identify the devices listed under DHCP clients.  Some of them have names that are obvious, one has a name that is meaningless to me, and several are reported as 'Unknown'.    And there are more devices than I can account for.

I thought that I could match on MAC address, but interestingly when I check the MAC address of a 'known' device, the last two or three octets match what is reported by the router, but not the first few. I was able to match/identify our cell phones by checking the phone's settings for it's IP address.  But that still leaves me with three "Unknown' devices unaccounted for, and one device named simply 'RE200'.  And I only have one actual device that I can think of that I have not accounted for on the list.  That would be a network extender device.

So, questions:

1) Any idea how to identify and account for the unidentified devices?

2) why do the MAC addresses only match on the last few octets?

3) is there any way to bind the MAC address (as known to the router) to a 'friendly' name?

Options
7 Reply
Re:Identifying DHCP clients
2021-01-25 22:11:35

stuckyville wrote

Hardware Version:
Archer C7 v2 00000000

So, questions: