x60 setup with AT&T Uverse 5268AC Gateway

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-02-11 21:46:50
Model: Deco X60  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: 1.0.5

Hello,

My purpose for inquiring here in the forums is to ensure I'm getting the most out of my setup.  I am a complete newb at this stuff (I've read the FAQ's and it's like reading Greek haha), so please go easy on me.

Backdrop:

I have Att Uverse, and my modem/router model # 5268ac fxn.  There's only one place in the house where this Att modem/router can go, due to the previous owner running the cables and then finishing the basement with drywall (unless I want to start ripping into drywall, which I don't!).  Consequently, our wi-fi signal is fine in some areas but mostly poor throughout the house.

I just purchased a three-pack of X60's.  I had three areas of my house in mind for them (one for each floor)...... however I now realize that one has to sit virtually right next to the Att modem.... which means I'll need to buy one more.  Fyi, there's no way to run cables to the other two satellite Deco's.... so only the one will remain connected via cable.

Current Status:

Last night, I connected one of the x60's via cable to the Att modem/router and did the setup (and updated firmware).   When I'm still close to the x60 (same room), I can see (via the app) that my phone is connected.  However, when I leave the room and/or go upstairs, it shows that my phone is no longer connected to the x60, yet I am still connected via wireless.

Questions:

Is it a problem that I don't get a signal from the deco, but I do from the ATT modem when I'm upstairs?  Said differently, is it a problem that I'm getting a signal from both?