Setting up VPN behind Uverse AC1750 router

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-08-30 19:25:32 - last edited 2021-12-06 10:38:47
Model: Archer C7  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version:

Please excuse my ignorance, I am really new at all of this.

In a house that has Uverse with a TP-Link AC1750 router I'd like to set up a second router with a VPN behind the Uverse router.

My goal is to be able to connect a Tablo OTA DVR to a VPN router and thus be able to remotely pair devices (smart phones, fire sticks, etc.) to the Tablo without having to physically be at the same location as the Tablo. I.e. have the Tablo and the remote device be, or think they are, on the same LAN.

When I set up the Tablo initially I had to do port forwarding and set a static IP (on the AC1750) for the Tablo to be able to remotely connect to paired devices from outside the LAN. This took about 12 hours! About 2 hours to figure out what needed to be done, and the rest on forums discovering that the port forwarding rules would not shut down the router, despite what the warning messages said, and to get the static IP reservation to take effect you had to angrily click on the save button 5 or 6 times (I figured this out by accident on my own).