TL-SG105E Ports 3-5 not functioning

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-08-08 18:28:26 - last edited 2022-08-15 18:48:37
Model: TL-SG105E  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hello,

I'm not a network expert, so apologies if I include too much or too little information.

Ports 3-5 on my TL-SG105E don't appear to be working. Here's what I'm trying to do: I would like to set up a second wireless router attached to the TL-SG105E switch for improved wireless coverage in another part of my house.

Here's my current setup, which has been working well for years:

Fiber internet -> Optical Network Terminal (from CenturyLink) -> Port 1 of the TL-SG105E. Port 2 of the TL-SG105E goes to my TP link Wireless Router Archer AX50, which supplies my PPoE credentials to CenturyLink.

I'm trying to plug in a Netgear Wireless Router into a third port on the TL-SG105E. I've tried ports 3, 4, and 5, and none of them work. When I plug in my Netgear router into Port 2, it works great. When I plug this router or the Archer AX50 into ports 3, 4, or 5, neither router works. Interestingly, the TL-SG105E config page shows ports are normal and working, and the green light begins flashing normally when plugging a router into ports 3, 4, or 5.

I've cycled the power to the TL-SG105E. I've disabled ports 3, 4, and 5, and re-enabled them through the config page at 192.168.0.1. I did loopback tests from ports 2-3, 2-4, and 2-5 and got flashing lights each time.

Is there a smarter way to configure my home network? Such as putting the second (Netgear) wireless router into access point mode and plugging into a port on my Archer AX50?

Thanks so much in advance!

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:TL-SG105E Ports 3-5 not functioning-Solution
2022-08-13 03:43:16 - last edited 2022-08-15 18:48:37

@Riley_S